Aussie Tree

The tree is one I made, setting the trunk in a Golden Syrup tin and filling it with Plaster of Paris. I learned that if you do this to make sure the tin is in proportion to the height of the trunk. When I added the decorations to the branches I quickly learned I had to distribute the weight very evenly around the tree to keep it standing up!

The foliage is crocheted using a boucle yarn which I would love to get in green … the nearest I have found is this brown with flecks of green. I figure this is OK for a Christmas tree with an Australiana theme because it is summer here down under at Christmas time and the trees are either sun burnt, burnt off or covered in dust!

The decorations all fit into the Australiana theme, and even includes a *slice of toast and Vegemite!

There are a lot of other key rings there, including a lot of souvenirs, a few which we bought as we travelled, others donated by others who thought we collected key rings because I hung three or four on a keying board in the kitchen one day.  I had  found in them bottom of drawers during a clean out!

The gum leaf in centre front is of a lovely suede with a tiny porcelain doll tucked between the two layers.

this is what the tree looks like in an undressed state!

*Formerly a resin key ring!

PS

Here is a list of some Australiana decorations I should make to add to this tree .. or make another to fit them all on..

Gum Blossoms.

Gum Nuts

Wattle (acacia) flowers

Fairy Sticks…

(a variation of the standing ones I made years ago … made with a stick from a gum tree.)

Gum Blossom dolls

Cut stars from beer cans.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Christmas Tree, Craft Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

