A tree by Half

IMG_1210November 2013

When my Dad went into hospital and decided that he would move from there into a home, the four of his children and assorted grandchildren, in-laws and general hangers on were instructed to gather at his house and tidy up the garden as he was thinking about putting it on the market.

We gathered from near and far, but it turned out to be a very wet morning.

I was staying at the house, and my brother was first to arrive, and we wandered around wondering what the so to be assembled crew could do, and we decided that cleaning out the sheds was a good option while we had plenty of hands on deck.

You will never see two sheds cleaned out so quickly … everyone was instructed to grab what they wanted as it went past them or miss out, and things started moving towards the dump trailer or one of the other vehicles which lined the street.

Someone yelled that a sad Christmas tree top had been found, but I couldn’t see the bottom of it anywhere and it went to the dump. Another tree top was tossed into my car.

When I was cleaning out cupboards inside the house later I found a Christmas tree … bottom, without a top, and I thought I had the matching pair from the shed clean out.

No, I didn’t, I had the good looking from the back but ugly front tree which had the horrible voice.

What do you do with the bottom of a tree?

Push some of the middle branches up to make a pointed top, and decorate!

The decorations are recycled cards … I glued the front to the back, cut out shapes or around pictures on the cards, added a hanging thread, add some crocheted  alternative tinsel and a Santa hat … done!

Might have to cut the tinsel alternative in half though … it looks a bit overdone even for me!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

