Tree in a Golden Syrup Tin

January 2014

IMG_1212

I spent a long time dreaming about making Christmas trees, and when I finally worked out how I might be able to do it and it was time to stop dreaming I couldn’t find much green yarn of any sort! There were some interesting yarns available at the time, just not in green.

I would love to find some of this yarn in green even now, 10 -12 years later!

IMG_1213

I decided to try anyway … and love the effect, and even the colour is OK … in Australia Christmas is in the middle of summer, and by that time of the year the landscape outside settled areas is grey green and dusty!

This year I thought the tree was looking a little jaded, so removed the decorations which had been added a bit haphazardly as I found them, and tied them on with some twine.

IMG_1214

That slice of ‘toast’ with black stuff on it … the black stuff is Vegemite … it is not that the toast has been burnt black. Vegemite is Australia’s favourite spread for breakfast, lunch and tea.

I had a heap of key-rings … one of them the slice of toast with Vegemite … the result of cleaning out the drawers in the mid 1980s and hanging about five key-rings on a keyboard under the letter rack in the kitchen. It seemed that every second person who walked past it found a spare key-ring in their pocket to add to the collection.

IMG_1215

The tree seemed like a reasonable place to display the key-rings for two months of the year, and a few Aussie flavored decorations added a touch of a bush Christmas.

I made Sturt Desert Pea magnets for trading tables and craft fairs, and then made a few to hang on other Christmas trees. The magnet clings to the tin.

IMG_1216

A Tiki found their way across the Tasman sea from New Zealand and onto the tree via a guy I worked with many moons ago, but Kiwis are accepted as honorary Aussies.

IMG_1217

The Flannel Flower on the top of the tree is from the leather work phase I went through just before I discovered patchwork and quilting.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Christmas Tree, Handmade. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

